Lunch Time

Sitting down for lunch at my daughter‘s school in a cafeteria with hundreds of children and a table full of kindergarten children is always interesting. The noise level is deafening, and entertainment is never missing.

Kindergarteners, especially,  are always seeking out attention and love to have adults eat with them. Each time I go the children tell me stories and are genuinely happy to see me. Walking the halls after lunch or recess I am continuously approached by children. Many are neighbors, but some are children I have met during the course of eating with my daughter. They stop me after school when I pick her up and tell me about their days.

It is a truly enjoyable experience.  I recommend trying it some time. Ask if you can eat lunch with your child, and I promise your child will be so happy, it will be worth the possible need for a hearing check after lunch.

Yesterday, I went to eat lunch with my daughter and two of my friends (they’re my neighbors too) were there. It was a great time and  wonderful  to see our community extends inside the school, and as children get to know us, it grows. What a wonderful feeling to know these children are happy to see you!

After lunch, my friend and I asked if we could have an appointment with the principal. We had concerns because only one, (really amazing and super efficient but really overworked) woman supervises the lunch recess for about eighty children (give or take) (with an occasional helper).

When my daughter comes home from school complaining about things it is usually recess that is the issue. Most if us know that bullying and other problems occur when there is limited supervision, namely recess or in the halls.  I have been to lunch several times and have seen several problems, yesterday was no different. As super-woman was busy, two boys sat atop their class mate pummeling him. I walked over there and they started to scatter. It turns out the dispute was over Silly Bands (have you seen these things?). When asked if they could have made better choices, the attacker and his side-kick started to cry and plead the injustice of theft.

I had seen enough. I had planned on talking to the Principal about the superwoman’s inability to be everywhere at once, even though she really does an amazing job. I wanted to explain to him how I feel bullying behaviors begin in Kindergarten, and before, and many of these children have never really had opportunity to be social, and to leave them with so little supervision (reinforcing behaviors that are naturally aggressive) is a recipe for disaster. I understand budget problems, but this was ridiculous.

Fortunately, the principal has a very open policy and saw us right away and agreed something could be done, but there is no funding. I suggested, since my friend and I are usually there one day a week, isn’t is possible there are some parents who do not know they can have lunch with their kids or might volunteer a lunch period to hang out for recess.

He agreed and said that an email would be forthcoming. In the mean time I will be going for lunch once a week anyway, having fun with my daughter, meeting her classmates, and loving that I get to be a part of her life in this way.

One response to “Lunch Time

  1. Pingback: 50 Blog Posts Every Teacher Should Read | Kindergarten Bullies

Leave a comment