2010 in review

I got this email in my box this morning from the blog hosting site. I really have to work harder to write more often! Thanks to all of you who helped me get a WOW!

The stats helper monkeys at WordPress.com mulled over how this blog did in 2010, and here’s a high level summary of its overall blog health:

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads Wow.

Crunchy numbers

Featured image

The average container ship can carry about 4,500 containers.  If each view were a shipping container, your blog would have filled about 4 fully loaded ships.

In 2010, there were 220 new posts, not bad for the first year! There were 177 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 66mb. That’s about 3 pictures per week.

The busiest day of the year was March 29th with 264 views. The most popular post that day was Names of the South Hadley Teens.

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were blogsurfer.us, facebook.com, en.wordpress.com, digg.com, and bullyinglte.wordpress.com.

Some visitors came searching, mostly for josie ratley, sharon chanon velazquez, myth of mean girls, pictures of bullying victims, and tattling turtle.

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1

Names of the South Hadley Teens March 2010
3 comments

2

Not in my school, not my child March 2010

3

Pictures of Bullying victims March 2010
1 comment

4

Games that teach empathy April 2010

5

Blame the victim? March 2010
6 comments

5 responses to “2010 in review

  1. Beth –

    Congrats! I am delighted that your response is that you’re going to write more often. I value your talent and your passion for your subject and enjoy reading what you have to offer. Also, I love the image of the cargo ships…. makes me think about the delivery of your powerful message! Happy New Year.

    • Thank Andrea, as always your comments humble me. I have actually been brewing up some posts. I am glad that bullying has been receiving more attention in the press that last year. Sadly, I feel that some people have used it as an opportunity to gain media attention. That being said I suppose that any focus may be good. Or it could make it so that it is a novelty to claim bullying and dimminsh the importance of the pain and anger that victims feel. I haven’t decided, but it is something I am mulling over. Look for more from me in the new year. That is my goal and I hope to remain focused.
      Happy New Year to you and all who read this. May you be blessed with loving supportive relationships that allow you to reach for the stars and contribute to your communities.
      HUGS!

  2. I love your blog and was so happy to see that it did so well in 2010. Now you can see how much it is truly valued. Happy New Year to you!

    • Thanks Alicia,
      It is nice to know that it is valued and your comments are always appreciated. I am working on finding time to write more. In this, my senior year at the university, I am working on projects and preparing for graduate work and I am trying to balance everything. I am hoping to write more this year.
      Best of luck to you!
      Beth

  3. As a student myself I understand completely. It just makes your blog posts more of a treat to look forward to. Best of luck.

Leave a comment